Graduate Chairs

The College of Graduate Studies at Bridgewater State University is proud to offer a wide array of graduate degree, licensure and certificate programs. Click on one of the areas below for graduate program chair contact information.

Accounting and Finance

Applied Anthropology

Interim Graduate Chair: Dr. Louise Badiane

Athletic Training

Graduate Chair: Dr. Suanne Maurer-Starks

Bilingual Education

Graduate Chair: Dr. Emily Spitzman

Business Administration (MBA and Certificate) 

Graduate Chair: Dr. Peter Sietins

Computer Science

Graduate Chair: Dr. Michael Black

Counselor Education

Counselor Education Coordinator - Dr. Elaine Bukowiecki

Mental Health Counseling - Dr. Nikki Freeburg
School Counseling - Dr. April Megginson
Student Affairs Counseling - Dr. Katherine Bender
International Non-Licensure Mental Health Counseling - Dr. Christy Lyons Graham

Criminal Justice

Graduate Chair: Dr. Jennifer Hartsfield

Education: Initial Teaching License (APB Program)

Graduate Chair: Prof. Melissa Winchell

Education: Professional Licensure (MAT)

Master's Core - Dr. Anne Hird
Biology - Dr. Christopher Bloch
Creative Arts - Prof. Leigh Craven
English - Dr. Kimberly Davis
History - Dr. Brian Payne
Mathematics - Dr. John Pike
Music -  Dr. Sarah McQuarrie
Physics / Physical Science - Dr. Thomas Kling

Bridgewater also offers an MAT with a concentration in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL), with both an initial licensure and a non-licensure option - please see separate TESOL section for coordinator information.

Education: PreK-12 Non Licensure

Graduate Chair: Dr. Anne Hird

Educational Leadership

Graduate Chair: Dr. Christopher Mattocks

Elementary & Early Childhood Education

Graduate Chair: Dr. Steven Greenberg


Graduate Chair: Dr. Kimberly Davis

Health Education

Graduate Chair: Dr. Karen Richardson

Health Professions and Pre-Medical Sciences

Graduate Chair: Dr. Seven Haefner

Instructional Technology

Graduate Chair: Dr. Anne Hird

Physical Education

Graduate Chair: Dr. Karen Richardson


Graduate Chair: Dr. Michelle Mamberg

Public Administration

Graduate Chair: Dr. Kevin Donnelly


Graduate Chair: Dr. Adam Brieske- Ulenski

Social Work (MSW)

Graduate Chair: Dr. Karen R. Fein

Speech-Language Pathology (MS)

Graduate Chairs: Dr. Sandra Ciocci and Dr. Susan Gray

Special Education

Graduate Chair: Dr. J. Edward Carter

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)

Licensure program: Dr. Ken Dobush
Non-Licensure program: Dr. Yulia Stakhnevich

Tennis Management

Graduate Chair: Dr. Jennifer Mead

Virtual/Online Teaching

Graduate Chair: Ms. Tracy Charbonnier

Women's & Gender Studies Graduate Certificate

Graduate Chair: Dr. Alba Aragon

Urban Education

Graduate Chair: Dr. Melissa Letham Keh